Nottingham Forest confirm retained list as transfer window opens

As Nottingham Forest gear up for the Premier League next season, the club has confirmed its retained list on the day the transfer window opens

First team players Tobias Figueiredo, Gaëtan Bong and Carl Jenkinson all leave the club following the expiry of their contracts. Figueiredo proved an invaluable member of the squad during his four-and-a-half years at the City Ground, while the other two fared less well.

Bong joined from Brighton & Hove Albion in January 2020 and, despite only making 19 appearances, proved a valuable member of the squad during the 2021/22 promotion season.

Jenkinson spent the second half of the season on loan at Melbourne City, having signed for the Reds in 2019. The former Arsenal right-back only managed 15 appearances for the club.

Lewis Grabban, also out of contract, has been offered a deal. At the age of 34 it’s unlikely to be longer than a year, but the club captain has proved to be a hugely successful signing for the Reds during his four years. However, after scoring 56 goals in 149 appearances, the striker may prefer a move overseas.

Academy players Marcelo Valencia, Josh Barnes, Baba Fernandes, Sam Sanders, Morgan Thomas-Sadler and Joe Watkins all leave the club. Centre-back Riley Harbottle, 21, has been offered a new contract, while Under 23s Billy Fewster and Aaron Donnelly have had their contracts extended.

Nuno da Costa and Nicholas Ioannou are both due to return from loan spells at Caen and Como respectively, with a year left on their contracts. Mohamed Dräger has been on loan at FC Luzern, although the club have an option to buy.

Harry Arter and Lyle Taylor still remain under contract, having returned from loan moves at Notts County and Birmingham City.

With the departure of loan players Keinan Davis, Philip Zinckernagel, Max Lowe, Djed Spence and James Garner, the club has a busy summer ahead in the recruitment department.

Premier League fixtures are announced at 9am on Thursday 16 June.